BJP is likely field its candidates in 38 of 40 Assembly seats in Goa


The ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) is likely field its candidates in 38 of the 40 Assembly seats in Goa for the February 14 election. A senior party functionary, said the saffron party will not contest from two Christian-dominated constituencies, namely Benaulim and Nuvem, that have traditionally elected candidates fielded on symbols of other parties barring the BJP.

At present, Benaulim is represented by Churchill Alemao, who after getting elected on a Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) ticket last time, shifted to the Mamata Banerjee-led Trinamool Congress (TMC) last month.

Nuvem constituency is represented by Wilfred D'Sa, who had won the last election as a Congress candidate, but later joined the ruling BJP.

“A formal announcement about the candidates would be made after January 16 when the party's parliamentary board approves the list," the office-bearer said.

The BJP has been holding meetings of its core committee to finalise the names of the candidates. Former Maharashtra chief minister Devendra Fadanavis, who is the party's in-charge for Goa elections, has been chairing meetings attended by the BJP's state unit president Sadanand Shet Tanavade and chief minister Pramod Sawant, among others.

(Except for the headline and the pictorial description, this story has not been edited by THE DEN staff and is published from a syndicated feed.)