BJP leading from 33 seats, Congress from 18 in Uttarakhand


In Uttarakhand, the Bharatiya Janata Party is leading from 33 seats while Congress is leading from 18 seats, according to inputs from counting stations across the state. Chief minister Pushkar Singh Dhami is trailing by 905 votes from Katima seat in Udham Singh Nagar district, while former chief minister Harish Rawat is also trailing by 7,085 votes from Lalkuan seat in Nainital district.

Other candidates are leading from six seats, including the Bahujan Samaj Party in two seats.

Congress spokesperson Garima Dasauni said it is too early to say who will win as the counting is still on, adding that the Congress will soon make gains across the state.

In the 70-seat Uttarakhand assembly, 36 is the required majority to form a government.

(Except for the headline and the pictorial description, this story has not been edited by THE DEN staff and is published from a syndicated feed.)